Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am Jay. I have 4 wonderful children,3 biological and 1 stepson. 3 boys and 1 girl. I have a philosophy that ‘everything happens for a reason’ and I do my best to surround myself and my children with happy and positive people and being part of a sling community certainly helps with that.

I used to work in Executive Recruitment but recently had the opportunity to change jobs and now I am a carer in the community,helping to look after people with dementia and other ailments.

I love working with people and also being able to be there for my children,as my job can be flexible. Through the sling library I have trained to be a peer supporter and really enjoy helping people to find the right slings for them and their baby or child.

 

How did you get into babywearing and did you plan to wear your baby when you were pregnant?

I wanted to carry my baby when I had my first child and invested in a mothercare sling. It never felt right. I now know that is because I had her in the cradle position and couldn’t see her properly (I had no idea what TICKS was.) With my second child I was determined to do it right. I started with a caboo and then used a mei tai,with a brief flirtation with a connecta which I wasn’t keen on but my partner at the time loved it. I would push one child in a buggy and carry the other in the sling. With my third baby I used a stretchy,then a mei tai,then started borrowing from the Bracknell Sling Library and fell in love with a manduca and a hop tye,both of which I also own now…and still borrowing from the library to find my next sling.

 
What’s your favourite wrap/carrier you’ve ever owned and why?

My favourite, I think, is a mei tai. The simplicity and diversity of it.

jay4
If money were no object, what wrap or sling would you own?

I would own all the slings…well,most of them. 😉

 
What do you like about babywearing?

I like the closeness,the ability to have hands free for my other children and to breastfeed on the run. Also,no buggy to pack for trips.

 

What do or did you find hardest about babywearing?

Wanting all the slings and not having them all. Actually,ring slings…love the idea,know how to use them in theory but just can’t get it to work well for me.
Does your partner join in with the babywearing?

Yes. He went from ‘I won’t wear one of those’ to deciding he liked my mei tai,then falling in love with the manduca too and has now chosen his own toddler sling.

jay7
What kind of comments do you receive when you babywear out and about?

Mainly positive oohs and ahhs but the occasional “isn’t he too big for that?” and “doesn’t it hurt your back?

 

Huge thanks to Jay who is one of our super peer support trained volunteers. She’s learnt so much so quickly and is always on hand to help out at our meets  with her gorgeous little boy, and is wonderfully encouraging and helpful on our facebook group too!

